The Romance of a Castle…

joslynOkay, I’m feeling whimsical (which isn’t rare by any means).  Did you know the United States has its share of castles, such as Joslyn Castle pictured here?

The website kept by James the Castlefinder is a joint effort with lovers of castles across the nation and offers an every growing list of castles in the United States.  He and his wife Patricia have been working on their own, Dupont Castle, for eleven years.

If you are interested in castles world-wide, here’s a link list of some great web sites to browse.

I am intrigued by ordinary people who work hard to put their vision into a livable form.  Whether a lumber baron in the 1800s, a family in 1970, or a fleet owner from the 1790s, people have loved castles long after they were no longer built (of course an ancient “original” castle is a drafty place, though modern castles are quite cozy).

kettsThe castle to the left was built sometime around 1970 and is still a private residence.  It is one interpretation of what a castle lover might build.  I’m pretty old school myself…if I were to build a castle, it would be a keep inside proper baileys, but that’s just me.  Others are creating stunning homes on the romantic castle theme for no other reason than their love of castles and their history.

Incidentally, ALL of the unlinked photos in this post are from Jim’s site linked above (make sure you scroll down below his initial web text to find the castles).   Castles with links are, of course, used with attribution to the site I found them on, though I landed on those sites frequently because of links on Jim’s site.

castleeventsCastles speak for themselves, so I’ll just get to posting a few photos below in just a minute.

I have to say, if I were going to the trouble to build a castle, I would make an effort to have a matching interior.  Castles built today seem to have interiors that are every bit as modern as the local home show.  Now, I’ve never been into houses only for their appearance.  I’m most thrilled with houses that have the same character within as without.  Should I one day build a castle, you can rest assured the interior will evoke all the mood of the period the castle represents.  Quite a speech, sorry, and I don’t mean to offend anyone who built a modern castle with modern furnishings.  Just stating my personal opinion.

Of course, if you are interested in building a castle, there are a few construction companies that specialize in them.  It took a bit but I found my bookmark (from before I met Zotero) for one such company.  Here’s the link: Castle Magic and check out their four tower castle under their plans…it’s based on Bodiam, one of the very romantic “water castles” (see below).

Richtolg

bam15026330bodian-castle-dan-hauselcastledoverbodiam04Sorry for posting two shots of Bodiam, but the water setting is one of my favorites.

If you have seen the movie Ever After, starring Drew Barrymore, and loved the royal castle, it is the Chateau de Hautefort.  The images are too wonky for me to get shots to post, but the least I can do is post their website and a separate image.

chateau_hautefort

Okay, I’ve spent a lot of time here and caught myself explaining the architectural and defensive differences between Leeds, Windsor Castle,  and Hampton Court.  I was also about to give my opinion of Blenheim Palace…a beautiful palace, yes, but not a castle.  Ah yes, well, I think it’s time this post comes to an end. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under In My Dreams

Leave a Reply

